Skip to content ↓

Guru Nanak
Multi Academy Trust

Early Years

In the Early Years pupils pursue the seven areas of learning, namely the three prime areas,

·         Personal, Social and Emotional Development

·         Physical Development

·         Communication and Language.

Further support to strengthen the prime areas is provided specifically through,

·         Literacy

·         Mathematics

·         Understanding the World

·         Expressive Arts and Design.

We recognise that parents are central to a child’s well-being and parents will therefore be encouraged to participate in their child’s’ early learning through pre-school home visits and initiatives like ‘Stay and Play’ sessions. Pupils in the EYFS are encouraged to learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.The promotion of Literacy will be prominent in the Early Years curriculum to lay a secure foundation for future learning. We will provide purposeful play with an appropriate balance of teacher directed and child initiated activities. Bilingual teachers and LSAs will provide a challenging and enjoyable programme of intensive learning and development. By the end of the Foundation Stage we aim for all pupils to achieve a Good Level of Development, achieving at least an ‘expected’ judgement in line with the Early Learning Goal Descriptors.

Further details about the EYFS Framework can be found here: